Skip to content ↓
Rooks Heath College

Rooks Heath College

Opportunity through Learning

Religious Studies

Religious Studies Department staff:  
Head of Department: Dr Donkor
Religious Studies Teachers:

Mr Cacciatore,
Ms Jurczyk
Mrs Munshi

Ms Patel

Religious Studies at Rooks Heath

The Religious Studies Department at Rooks Heath is justly proud of the contribution it makes to the ethos of the whole College. A spirit of respect and inclusivity is fostered by a desire to learn about religion as well as learning from religion through a discrete study of different religious traditions.

Attainment Target 1: Learning about religion, focusing on the beliefs and teachings of the various religions.

Attainment Target 2: Learning from religion, focusing on how students can apply their knowledge to real life situations even if they are not a religious person themselves. For example, Sikhism teaches about everyone being a child of God. In a real life situation, Sikhs respect and treat everyone equally irrespective of their race, gender or religion.

We teach students how to live in a tolerant multi-ethnic and multi-faith society and cover topics relevant to and experienced by young people in our community. It also encourages students to develop their sense of identity and belonging and enables them to flourish individually within their community and as citizens within a pluralistic society and global community. Religious Studies has an important role to play in preparing students for adult life, employment and lifelong learning. It enables students to develop respect for and sensitivity to others, in particular those whose faiths and beliefs are different from their own.

Students are taught to think critically and conceptually and are prepared for rigorous academic study in subjects such as theology, sociology and philosophy.

The Religious Studies Department is well resourced with 2 classrooms, interactive whiteboards and dual screen desktops, VCR and DVD players, artefacts, text books, department-produced resources, videos and DVDs. We also share the services of excellent support staff.  The RS Department also makes good use of the Colleges numerous networked ICT suites and the Library.

Studying Religious Studies can provide invaluable life skills, offer opportunities to further education and enhance careers. It gives students a chance to develop an understanding of different cultures and empathy for people from all walks of life. RS teaches the principles of debate, philosophy and ethics and also provides a vital lesson in understanding human differences and, most importantly, our similarities since religion is so intertwined in our history, society and culture.

Students of Religious Studies can develop critical thinking, research analysis and presentation skills which are valued by employers in a range of sectors.

It can lead to sixth form courses such as Philosophy, Politics, Sociology and Psychology as well as university courses such as Law, Medicine, Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE).

Current employment opportunities where a qualification in Religious Studies would be advantageous include Medical Doctor, Lawyer, Journalist, Teacher, Police Officer, Charity worker, Counsellor and a Civil Service Administrator.