Skip to content ↓
Rooks Heath College

Rooks Heath College

Opportunity through Learning

Key Stage 4

Edexcel GCSE in Information and Communication Technology (ICT)    


GCSE ICT is a popular option at Key stage 4. Student have 5 hours of ICT lessons a week and complete the course in one academic year.

The course is regularly updated with relevant, engaging content that keeps students interested and engaged as well as preparing them for further studies post GCSE or giving them skills they can use in the workplace.

The Key Stage 4 National Curriculum programme of study for ICT is embedded into the course.

There are 2 units to complete:

Unit 1: Living in a Digital World                Examined unit                                worth 40% of the GCSE

In this unit students explore how digital technology impacts on the lives of individuals, organisations and society. They  learn about current and emerging digital technologies and the issues raised by their use in a range of contexts (learning and earning, leisure, shopping and money management, health and wellbeing and on the move)

They develop awareness of the risks that are inherent in using ICT and the features of safe, secure and responsible practice.

This unit is assessed through a 1 hour 30 minutes examination paper set and marked by Edexcel.

Unit 2: Using Digital Tools                        Controlled assessment unit         worth 60% of the GCSE

This is a practical unit. Students complete coursework in a controlled lesson environment.

Students broadan and enhance their ICT skills and capability. They work with a range of digtal tools and techniques to produce effective ICT solutions in a range of contexts.

They learn to reflect critically on their own and others' use of ICT and to adopt safe, secure and responsible practice.