Skip to content ↓
Rooks Heath School

Rooks Heath School

Strive to be your best

Computer Science

Creative iMedia  

The OCR Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in Creative iMedia consists of two mandatory units and two optional units. Each unit is worth 25% of the qualification, one of the mandatory units is an examination which is usually taken in Year 10 and the other two units in Year 11. These qualifications will assess the application of creative media skills through their practical use. They will provide learners with essential knowledge, transferable skills and tools to improve their learning in other subjects with the aims of enhancing their employability when they leave education, contributing to their personal development and future economic well-being. The qualifications will encourage independence, collaboration, creativity and awareness of the digital media sector.

Creative iMedia will equip learners with a range of creative media skills and provide opportunities to develop, in context, desirable, transferable skills such as research, planning, and review, working with others and communicating creative concepts effectively. Through the use of these skills, learners will ultimately be creating fit-for-purpose creative media products. All learners will be challenged, including high attaining learners, by introducing them to demanding material and techniques; encouraging independence and creativity and providing tasks that engage with the most taxing aspects of the National Curriculum. The ‘hands on’ approach that will be required for learning has strong relevance to the way young people use the technology required in creative media.

The skills and knowledge acquired through the completion of the Cambridge National Certificate in Creative iMedia will prepare students not only for further study at KS5 but also for their future careers. 

GCSE Computer Science:  

Students undertake the OCR GCSE Computer Science course in Years 10 & 11.  This course is 100% theory and requires students to sit two examinations that are externally assessed.  Paper one focuses on Computer Systems and paper two concentrates on computational thinking, algorithms and programming.

The Computer Science syllabus is engaging and practical, it encourages creativity and problem solving. It allows students to develop their understanding and application of the core concepts in computer science. Students also analyse problems in computational terms and devise creative solutions by designing, writing, testing and evaluating programs. It has deep links with Mathematics, Science and Design and Technology.  Through studying Computing in Key Stage 3, students will already have a foundation knowledge and in Key Stage 4, the units are carefully sequenced to allow for continued development of knowledge and skills.

By the end of the course, students will be able to: understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of Computer Science, including abstraction, decomposition, logic, algorithms, and data representation; analyse problems in computational terms through practical experience of solving such problems, including designing, writing and debugging programs; think creatively, innovatively, analytically, logically and critically; understand the components that make up digital systems, and how they communicate with one another and with other systems; understand the impacts of digital technology to the individual and to wider society. Not only will the course do all the above, it will also give an insight into a variety of careers related to Computer Science.

This exciting GCSE will prepare students with lifelong transferable skills, equip them with the knowledge, skills and understanding required to complete a Computer Science qualification at Key Stage 5 or at a level suitable for the future workplace and as active participants in a digital world.